DC vs KKR, IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals beat KKR by 18 runs

Sharjah Shreys Iyer’s 38-ball unbeaten 88 and Prithvi Shaw’s aggressive half-century helped the Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 18 runs in the Indian Premier League match played between a mountain of runs. Delhi scored 228 for 4 in the batsmen’s Ashgah Sharjah, in response to which KKR could only manage 210 runs for 8 wickets.

England’s World Cup winners Eoin Morgan and Rahul Tripathi kept the team in the match for KKR adding 78 runs for the seventh wicket but the result was clear after Morgan was dismissed in the 19th over and then Tripathi in the next over. Morgan scored 44 runs in 18 balls with the help of 5 sixes and a four.

Tripathi added 36 runs in 16 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes. Earlier, Harshal Patel gave two consecutive setbacks to KKR in the 13th over to dismiss Nitish Rana (58 off 35 balls) and captain Dinesh Karthik (eight). Enrich Norje took three and Patel took two wickets for Delhi.

In the Delhi innings, the powerplay was played by Sav who scored 66 runs in 41 balls with the help of four fours and four sixes. After this, Iyer played a great innings and put a mountain of runs on him.

He hit 7 fours and 6 sixes in his innings. Some of his sixes were so high that the ball went into the car parking near the stadium. Rishabh Pant also scored 38 runs in 17 balls. This pitch did not help the bowlers and the entire innings took 14 sixes and 18 fours.

After two good matches, young Kamlesh Nagerkoti took 1 wicket for 35 runs in 3 overs while Shivam Mavi conceded 40 runs in three overs. Seeing this, captain Dinesh Karthik did not fulfill his four-over quota from him.

Patrick Cummins gave away 49 runs in 4 overs. Sav beat her balls fiercely in Powerplay. Sau was in such an aggressive form that Shikhar Dhawan (26 off 16 balls) also fell in front of him.

Both added 56 runs for the first wicket. After this, Iyer played a very entertaining innings. Spinner Varun Chakraborty took one wicket for 49 runs in 4 overs while Sunil Narine conceded 26 runs in 2 overs.

Both teams:

Kolkata: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narayan, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik (captain and wicketkeeper), Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Kamlesh Nagerkoti, Shivam Mavi, Rahut Tripathi and Varun Chakraborty.

Delhi: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoynis, Kagiso Rabada, Enrich Nortje, Amit Mishra, Ravichandran Ashwin and Harshal Patel.

Share this story